OnCourse Learning, formerly ProSchools

  • Utah Licensing Requirements

    Fingerprinting - Exam & Licensing Procedures

    The Utah Insurance Department requires all individuals applying for a resident insurance license to be fingerprinted. Fingerprinting must be done at a Prometric test center, using "live scan" technology, which digitally captures and transmits the fingerprints to the Utah Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), for a criminal history background check. Fingerprinting is not required for resident licensees adding a line of authority to an existing license.

    For license types that require passing an examination (IE: Resident Consultant, Resident Producer, Resident Independent Adjuster, Resident Public Adjuster), the process is as follows:

    1. The applicant will register by going online at Prometric or by calling 800-697-8947 to schedule an appointment for the license examination and fingerprinting to be done at a Prometric test center. In addition to the Prometric examination fees, there is a $20 Prometric fingerprint processing fee. The applicant must schedule the appointment and pay the Prometric examination and processing fees before arriving at the test center.
    2. After passing the examination, the candidate will apply on-line using a kiosk located at the Prometric test center. The license application will include a $36.50 FBI/BCI fingerprint fee* ($16.50 FBI/$20.00 BCI) that must be made by credit card during the online application process. Upon completing the on-line application, the applicant must print the SIRCON or NIPR confirmation page and show it to the test center supervisor as proof they have paid the FBI/BCI fingerprint fees.
    3. After applying for a license on-line, the applicant will have their fingerprints taken at the Prometric test center.
    4. Fingerprint results will be returned to the Utah Insurance Department. The department will evaluate the results and the license application prior to issuing any license.


    Candidates may no longer submit a license application for pre-screening purposes prior to taking the examination. All license applications are to be submitted after successfully passing any required examinations.

    Note: Passing an exam and submitting an application does not guarantee that you will be issued a license. Issuance of a license depends on review and approval of all license application materials, including application questions regarding any prior civil or criminal proceedings. Read the application carefully. Failure to disclose civil proceedings and all criminal convictions, whether a misdemeanor or felony, and any pending charges, may result in denial of your application or revocation of your license after issuance. If your license application is denied, you will be notified in writing of the reason for such denial.

    After passing the exam, complete and submit your license application electronically, and pay all required nonrefundable fees with a credit card. You can apply electronically from your home or office at Sircon or NIPR. Your application and fees will be electronically forwarded to the Department. After review and approval, you will be able to print your license from Sircon. You will need the license number and last 4 digits of your social security number.

    The Department no longer accepts paper applications. Paper applications submitted to the Department may be returned to the applicant, without being processed.

    Company appointments do not need to accompany the individual license application and license fee, but the applicant cannot act as a producer until the appointment process is complete.

    For complete details please visit the Utah Insurance Department website at:

  • Utah State Exam Information

    Examinations are administered by Prometric. When an individual completes an exam registration form, either online or over the phone and pays the exam fee to Prometric, Prometric will send written notice to the candidate of where the exam may be taken and how to schedule the exam appointment. The easiest way to register for the exam is online at Prometric. You may also call Prometric at 1-800-697-8947. If a candidate fails an exam, they must re-register and pay the fee to Prometric again.

    Candidates may no longer submit a license application for pre-screening purposes prior to taking the examination. We do not review criminal history prior to application. All license applications are to be submitted after successfully passing any required examinations.

  • Utah Licensing FAQs

    Where can I find information on the requirements to be licensed as an Insurance Agent in Utah?
    OnCourse Learning, formerly ProSchools is a valuable resource for licensing information. View the “Rules and Regulations” section of our website, or contact your state agency for more information. 

    What do OnCourse Learning, formerly ProSchools' Utah Insurance programs include?
    OnCourse Learning, formerly ProSchools' Utah Insurance programs include printable lessons, multi-media reviews, interactive exercises, quizzes and comprehensive exams. All the tools you need to prepare for the state exam are included! 

    Do I need to enroll in an exam prep course to prepare for my Utah Insurance Agent licensing exam?
    OnCourse Learning, formerly ProSchools' Utah Insurance programs include everything you need to pass your state licensing exam. 

    Once I enroll, when can I start studying for my Utah Insurance Agent license?
    Upon enrolling, you will have immediate access to your coursework. Simply log-in using your e-mail address and password and you can get started immediately. Best of all, you will have access to your course 24/7 and from any computer with an internet connection. You can work at home, at the office, wherever is the most convenient for you! 

    What if I have questions once I enroll in the Utah Insurance program?
    OnCourse Learning, formerly ProSchools' attentive customer service staff and knowledgeable instructors are available to answer any questions you may have. We are available Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. PST at 1-800-299-2207 or service@proschools.com.

    Does OnCourse Learning, formerly ProSchools offer a guarantee for its programs?
    If you’re not fully satisfied with your purchase, just let us know in writing at requests@proschools.com within 7 days from the date of purchase and you’ll promptly receive a full refund, no questions asked. Of Course, no refunds for a completed course or exam prep products.

  • Utah More Information

    For more information, please contact the Utah Insurance Department at:

    Utah Insurance Department
    State Office Building Ste 3110
    Capitol Hill Complex
    450 N State St
    Salt Lake City UT 84114-6901

    Phone: 1-800-439-3805
    Website: insurance.utah.gov

  • National Mortgage Licensure Requirements

    Please contact your state agency for specific requirements, but generally mortgage loan originators are required to:

    1. Complete a Criminal Background Check (CBC).
    2. Authorize a credit report through the NMLS.
    3. Fulfill all state and federal education requirements as designated by your state agency.
    4. Take and pass a National Test.
  • National Pre-Licensing Education Requirements

    New state-licensed MLOs are required to complete 20 hours of NMLS-approved education. This includes:

    1. 3 hours of federal law
    2. 3 hours of ethics
    3. 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
    4. 12 hours of electives
  • National Continuing Education Requirements

    State-licensed MLOs are required to complete 8 hours of NMLS-approved education annually beginning the year they are licensed (unless PE was completed in the same year). This includes:

    1. 3 hours of federal law
    2. 2 hours of ethics
    3. 2 hours of non-traditional mortgage lending
    4. 1 hour of electives

    MLOs are advised that to comply with the SAFE Act’s “successive years” rule, they may not take the same CE course two years in a row.

  • National More Information

    NMLS Resources

    Professional Standards: Education – click here
    Professional Standards: Criminal Background Check – click here
    Professional Standards: Credit Report – click here
    Professional Standards: Education – click here
    Professional Standards: Testing – click here 

    Other Resources 

    Doing business in Guam?

    Please contact the Guam Department of Revenue and Taxation:

    Phone: 671-635-1843
    Email: ohn.carlos@revtax.guam.gov or robert.tongson@revtax.guam.gov
    Website: www.guamtax.com

    View the Guam MLO License Description Page here.

    Doing business in Puerto Rico?

    Please contact the Puerto Rico Bureau of Financial Institutions: 

    Phone: 787-723-8403
    Email: reglamentacion@ocif.gobierno.pr
    Website: www.ocif.gobierno.pr


    View the Puerto Rico MLO License Description Page here.

    Doing business in the Virgin Islands? 

    Virgin Islands Office of Lieutenant Governor Division of Banking and Insurance

    Phone: 340-774-7166
    Email: gail.joseph@lgo-vi.gov
    Website: ltg.gov.vi/division-of-banking-and-insurance 

    View the Virgin Islands MLO License Description Page here.

  • Tennessee Licensing Requirements

    To get a permanent resident producer insurance license in Tennessee, you must:

    1. Obtain a Uniform Application for Resident Individual Insurance Producer License.
    2. Complete prelicensing education requirement for the line(s) of insurance you wish to be licensed. The hours of required education are:
      • Tennessee Life Insurance: 20 hours
      • Tennessee Accident & Health Insurance: 20 hours
      • Tennessee Property Insurance: 20 hours
      • Tennessee Casualty Insurance: 20 hours
    3. Schedule and pass an examination with Pearson VUE.
    4. Submit your application materials and filing fee at the test center when you sit for your state examination.
    5. Submit fingerprints. Requests for a fingerprint-based background check must be submitted through the use of the Tennessee Applicant Processing Service. Fingerprint information can be found at the Insurance Division website.

    You will be issued a license by the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance once you have passed the examination and the Department is satisfied that you have met all other licensing requirements. If you are issued a license, you can not engage in the business of insurance until you are contracted by an insurer.

  • Tennessee State Exam Information

    Tennessee insurance license applicants must pass a computerized license examination administered by Pearson VUE, a national testing firm. To schedule an exam date and time, you can call them toll-free at (800) 274-4957 or visit www.pearsonvue.com. You are encouraged to reserve your exam date at least three or four business days prior.

    To schedule an exam, Pearson VUE will require the following:

    • Personal information – legal name, address, phone, SSN, date of birth, and daytime telephone number
    • Name of the examination(s)
    • Preferred examination date and test center location
    • Failing score report (if retaking an exam)
    • Name and provider number of your education provider
    • Course provider number
    • Exam fees paid in full

    For more information, click here to view Pearson VUE’s complete Licensing and Examination Information Booklet, which includes details of all licensing requirements, exam reservation guidelines, and a list of all Pearson VUE test center locations and hours of operation. Scheduled test dates vary widely by location.

    On the day of your examination you must bring the following to the test center:

    • Two forms of current signature identification, one of which must include a government-issued photo such as a driver's license or state ID
    • A completed and signed Uniform Application, which must include a completed Prelicensing Education Proof of Completion
    • The state application filing fee in the form of an insurance company check, certified check, cashier's check, or money order, made payable to the Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance
    • Candidates who pass all parts of the examination will receive a score report that reads "pass," and no numeric score will be reported. Candidates who fail one or more parts of the examination will receive a numeric score for each part they failed.

Items 1 to 10 of 381 total

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. ...
  7. 39